The Indian rupee (symbol: ₹; code: INR) is the official currency of India.

The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India, on the basis of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934.

In 2010, a new rupee sign (₹) was officially adopted.

It was designed by D. Udaya Kumar (Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam).

First banknote of independent India, one rupee (1949).

Rupee One denomination was re-introduced in 2015.

Rupee One : Size 63 x 97 mm

Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series

  • The Republic of India took reforms in November 2016 when it withdrew the legal tender status of ₹ 500 and ₹ 1,000 denominations of banknotes of the Mahatma Gandhi Series issued by the Reserve Bank of India till November 8, 2016.
  • The new banknotes were introduced in the Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series, highlighting the cultural heritage and scientific achievements of the country.
  • Distinct colours were used for different denomination and sizes reduced.
  • Two new denominations ₹ 2000 and ₹500 were introduced on November 08, 2016


  • The first 100-rupee note featured the portrait of George VI.
  • After independence in 1947, Reserve Bank of India continued to issue the notes by replacing the portrait of George VI with the Emblem of India, as a part of the Lion Capital Series of banknotes.
  • The Reserve Bank in 1969 came out with a commemorative note of Rs 100 showing Mahatma Gandhi seated in the backdrop of the Sevagram Ashram.


  • ₹ 200 on August 23, 2017 were introduced in the Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series.


  • In 1987, the ₹500 note was introduced, followed by the ₹1,000 note in 2000.
  • But the portrait of the father of the nation made its regular appearance on currency notes only in 1987 when the series of rupee 500 currency notes showing a smiling Gandhi was launched in October that year.
  • The current ₹500 banknote, in circulation since 10 November 2016, is a part of the Mahatma Gandhi New Series.


  • The highest denomination note ever printed by the Reserve Bank of India was the ₹10000 note in 1938 which was demonetized in January 1946.
  • The ₹10000 was again introduced in 1954. These notes were demonetized in 1978.
Rs. 10,000 Note
Rupees Ten: Size 63 x 123 mm
Rupees Twenty: Size 63 x 147 mm
Rupees Fifty: Size 66 x 135 mm
Rupees One Hundred : Size 66 x 142 mm
Rupees Two Hundred : Size 66 x 146 mm
Rupees Five Hundred : Size 66 x 150 mm
Rupees Two Thousand : Size 66 x 166 mm

Current Bank Notes (Mahatama Gandhi Series)

  SizeColourReverseIssue On
5117 mm x 63 mmGreenTractor2002/2009
10123 mm x 63 mmBrownKonark Sun Temple2018
20129 mm x 63 mmYellowEllora Caves2019
50135 mm x 66 mmCyanHampi with Chariot2017
100142 mm x 66 mmLavenderRani ki vav2018
200146 mm x 66 mmOrangeSanchi Stupa2017
500150 mm x 66 mmStone GreyRed Fort2016
2000166 mm x 66 mmMagentaMangalyaan2016

New Currency Effective from

20008 November, 2016
50010 November, 2016
20023 August, 2017
100July, 2018

Press of Currency

Bank notes are printed at four currency presses.

Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Ltd. (SPMCIL) owned by the Government of India

  • Nasik (Western India)
  • Dewas (Central India).

Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Ltd. (BRBNMPL) is owned by the Reserve Bank.

  • Mysuru (Southern India)
  • Salboni (Eastern India)

Coins are minted in four mints owned by SPMCIL owned by the Reserve Bank.

The coins are issued for circulation only through the Reserve Bank in terms of Section 38 of the RBI Act.

  • Mumbai,
  • Hyderabad,
  • Kolkata
  • NOIDA.

Important Lines about Currency

  • The paper currently being used for printing of banknotes in India is made by using 100% cotton.
  • Fifteen languages are appearing in the language panel of banknotes in addition to Hindi and English on the reverse of the banknote.
  • Yes, it is possible to have two or more banknotes with the same serial number, but they would either have a different Inset Letter or year of printing or the signature of a different Governor of RBI.
  • There can be notes without any inset letter also.
  • Instead of Inset Alphabet RBI introduced *(Star) Series Fresh banknotes in August 2006.
  • Physically Challenge People can identify bank notes with symbols.

Mobile Aided Note Identifier (MANI) is a mobile application launched by the Reserve Bank for aiding visually impaired persons to identify the denomination of Indian Banknotes.

Official UsersUnofficial User
  • The Bhutanese ngultrum is pegged at par with the Indian rupee; both currencies are accepted in Bhutan.
  • The Nepalese rupee is pegged with the Indian rupee;
  • The Indian rupee is accepted in Bhutan and Nepal, except ₹500 banknotes of the Mahatma Gandhi Series and the ₹200, ₹500 and ₹2,000 banknotes of the Mahatma Gandhi New Series, which are not legal tender in Bhutan and Nepal and are banned by their respective governments.
  • On 29 January 2014, Zimbabwe added the Indian rupee as a legal tender to be used.

Related Links

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *